Dr. Shalini Rajnesh


Indian Administrative Service






It’s no more a question of ‘What ails citizen’s services in Karnataka? After all, it is what aids people’s services in Karnataka.’ The welcome innovative change has been brought about by e-governance and change in the attitude of the employees. Dr Shalini Rajneesh (IAS, Secretary to Government of Karnataka, Administrative Reforms) acknowledged the Chief Minister’s programme to effect changes across the board. As Principal Secretary to Government, Department of Personnel and Administrative Reforms, she steered a revolutionary legislation – Karnataka’s Guarantee of Services to Citizens Act, 2011 popularly known as “Sakala”. This unique Act ensures that Government servants deliver 688 services to the citizens, covering 52 departments within stipulated time, else a compensatory cost payable to the citizen will be deducted from their salaries, besides disciplinary action will be taken for committing more than 7 willful defaults. In a span of three years, 90 million citizens have successfully availed of Time Bound Services. Her commitment to qualitative Governance has earned SAKALA ISO 9001 CERTIFICATION in a record time of 2 months, again the first in the country.

Scalability and Impact:

Her special contribution through a Book on Inclusive growth for the upliftment of the Backward regions of Karnataka has also borne fruit in the form of Central amendment to the Constitution which is Article 371 J, giving special status to Hyderabad Karnataka region. Presently she is working as Principal Secretary, Backward Classes Welfare Department, wherein she has conducted the first ever Social & Educational Survey of 6 crore people of Karnataka mapping 55 parameters to bring in Social equity and inclusiveness in planning and development. She has also initiated “Save the Farmer” campaign using CSR funds, aiming at making agriculture profitable.

Financial Requirements:


Awards and Recognition:

“SAKALA” Project which was pioneered by her has received several awards, Prime Minister Award National E-Governance Award for “Outstanding Performance in Citizen Centric Service Delivery” in 2013- 14 Google Innovation Award Quality Circle of India National Award-2014 Commonwealth Public Administration and Management (CAPAM) Award 2014 CloudGov Award She has also received several awards for her individual commitment in the Indian Administrative Service, D L Shaw Quality Award NIA Achievers Award Art of Living Award Duke Certificate Gfiles Governance Awards 2015 D. LIT from Bijapur Parisara Ratna Award
Scroll to Top