Mr. Manoj Kumar Patel






Indian economy is still largely dependent on the agricultural sector. Use of the conventional and outdated methods of spraying pesticides on crops has resulted in having a negative impact on both the crops and human life. Often, the targeted plants and crops do not get full coverage through the outdated spraying techniques, and a lot of it drips off. Off target spraying causes contamination to the operators and poses a threat to human health. Currently there are no manufacturers of electrostatic based spraying technologies in India that can address this problem.


To tackle this issue, research was initiated to design a sprayer with a capacity for high range spraying so that uniform deposition of the pesticide on all sides of the crops can be achieved using electrostatic force. CSIR-CSIO has been working in electrostatic spraying technologies for the past six years. A new air – assisted electrostatic nozzle has been designed and developed for small scale farms, which is light weight, highly efficient, reduces pesticide use and human life risk, and is eco – friendly. This product has been commercialized and is available in the market for use in India and other countries.

Scalability and Impact:

The ‘Electrostatic Sprayer for Agricultural Pesticides Spraying’ has been commercialized and is available in the market. This device has a huge potential in the states of Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra and Punjab as these states are the topmost pesticide consuming states in India. The implementation of this device will reduce the use of pesticides in India substantially.

Financial Requirements:


Awards and Recognition:

Member of Advisory Board and Editor, Biostandups to promote the Women Empowerment in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM). Appointed as Ambassador and Partner for Innovation Development by Society for Research and Initiatives for Sustainable Technologies and Institutions (SRISTI). Gandhiyan Young Technological Innovation (GYTI) Award for 2016 SKOCH Smart Technology Award 2015.
Scroll to Top